: Nearly a quarter of Firm lawyers recognized in Best Lawyers in Canada© 2019 named a "Lawyer of the Year"

August 21, 2018

Eighty-six lawyers from Stewart McKelvey have been listed in the 13th edition of Best Lawyers in Canada©, as leaders in more than 40 practice areas. 21 of these individuals have also been recognized as a Best Lawyers® 2019 "Lawyer of the Year", which is given to those in each practice and metropolitan area with the highest overall peer feedback. As the oldest and most respected peer-review publication in the legal profession, inclusion in Best Lawyers is based entirely on peer-review and allows leading lawyers to share their opinion about the professional abilities of their colleagues within the same geographical and legal practice area.

Stewart McKelvey was also listed as "Law Firm of the Year", for trusts and estates. This designation is given to a single law firm across Canada for its work in one particular legal practice area, based on a number of criteria, including lawyer feedback, the number of Best Lawyers individuals and previous "Lawyer of the Year" rankings.

Lewis Andrews, QCRobert AskeArt Barry, QC
Clarence BennettCynthia BensonIan Bilek
Dan Boone, QCLydia BugdenAndrew Burke
Mark BurseyGeorge Caines, QCSpencer Campbell, QC
Maurice Chiasson, QCJanet Clark, CPHRJonathan Coady
Geoffrey Connolly, QC, P.Eng.Paul CoxworthyJim Cruickshank
James Dickson, QC, P.Eng.Rick DunlopRobert Dysart
Paul Festeryga, QCAndrew FraserBruce Grant, QC
Robert Grant, QCElizabeth HaldanePaul Harquail, ACIArb
Richard HirschNeil Jacobs, QCBrian Johnston, QC
Colleen KeyesPaul KileyCathy Lahey, QC
Thomas Laughlin, QCNeal LeardCharles LeBlond, QC
James LeMesurier, QCFraser MacFadyenGeoffrey Machum, QC, ICD.D
Robert MacKeigan, QCTimothy Matthews, QCAllison McCarthy
Carman McCormick, QCKenneth McCullogh, QCFrederick McElman, CM, QC
John McFarlane, QCPeter McLellan, QCGerald McMackin, QC
David Miller, QCGreg MooresWill Moreira, QC, FCIArb
Sacha MorissetPerlene MorrisonMurray Murphy, QC, CPHR
James MurphyRichard Niedermayer, TEPSusan Norman
Scott Norton, QCStephen PenneyColin Piercey
John Plowman, QCChristine PoundCharles Reagh
André Richard, QCRory Rogers, QCNancy Rubin, QC
Maureen Ryan, QCMick Ryan, QCRebecca Saturley
Colm St. Roch Seviour, QCBarbara Smith, QCHarold Smith, QC
Paul SmithLawrence Stordy, QCGavin Stuttard
Ian SutherlandBrian Tabor, QCMark Tector 
Chantal Thibodeau, QCCandace Thomas, QCJames Travers, QC 
Robert Vincent, QCIan WallaceKim Walsh 
Shelley WoodRodney Zdebiak  

Best Lawyers 2019 "Lawyer of the Year":

Dan Boone, QC - Corporate and Commercial Litigation
Lydia Bugden - Corporate Law
Robert Dysart - Insurance Law
Bruce Grant, QC - Banking and Finance Law
Robert Grant, QC - Corporate and Commercial Litigation
Neil Jacobs, QC - Insolvency and Financial Restructuring
Paul Kiley - Banking and Finance Law
Robert MacKeigan, QC - Insolvency and Financial Restructuring
Allison McCarthy - Corporate Law
Carman McCormick, QC - Health Care Law
Kenneth McCullogh, QC - Construction Law
Gerald McMackin, QC - Trusts and Estates
David Miller, QC - Product Liability Law
Will Moreira, QC, FCIArb - Maritime Law
Perlene Morrison - Real Estate Law
Richard Niedermayer, TEP - Trusts and Estates
Scott Norton, QC - Legal Malpractice Law
Maureen Ryan, QC - Mergers and Acquisitions Law
Paul Smith - Banking and Finance Law
Gavin Stuttard - Securities Law
James Travers, QC - Corporate Law

+ Quick Guide