Skip to content

Nearly a quarter of Firm lawyers recognized in Best Lawyers in Canada© 2019 named a “Lawyer of the Year”

Eighty-six lawyers from Stewart McKelvey have been listed in the 13th edition of Best Lawyers in Canada©, as leaders in more than 40 practice areas. 21 of these individuals have also been recognized as a Best Lawyers® 2019 “Lawyer of the Year”, which is given to those in each practice and metropolitan area with the highest overall peer feedback. As the oldest and most respected peer-review publication in the legal profession, inclusion in Best Lawyers is based entirely on peer-review and allows leading lawyers to share their opinion about the professional abilities of their colleagues within the same geographical and legal practice area.

Stewart McKelvey was also listed as “Law Firm of the Year“, for trusts and estates. This designation is given to a single law firm across Canada for its work in one particular legal practice area, based on a number of criteria, including lawyer feedback, the number of Best Lawyers individuals and previous “Lawyer of the Year” rankings.

Lewis Andrews, QC Robert Aske Art Barry, QC
Clarence Bennett Cynthia Benson Ian Bilek
Dan Boone, QC Lydia Bugden Andrew Burke
Mark Bursey George Caines, QC Spencer Campbell, QC
Maurice Chiasson, QC Janet Clark, CPHR Jonathan Coady
Geoffrey Connolly, QC, P.Eng. Paul Coxworthy Jim Cruickshank
James Dickson, QC, P.Eng. Rick Dunlop Robert Dysart
Paul Festeryga, QC Andrew Fraser Bruce Grant, QC
Robert Grant, QC Elizabeth Haldane Paul Harquail, ACIArb
Richard Hirsch Neil Jacobs, QC Brian Johnston, QC
Colleen Keyes Paul Kiley Cathy Lahey, QC
Thomas Laughlin, QC Neal Leard Charles LeBlond, QC
James LeMesurier, QC Fraser MacFadyen Geoffrey Machum, QC, ICD.D
Robert MacKeigan, QC Timothy Matthews, QC Allison McCarthy
Carman McCormick, QC Kenneth McCullogh, QC Frederick McElman, CM, QC
John McFarlane, QC Peter McLellan, QC Gerald McMackin, QC
David Miller, QC Greg Moores Will Moreira, QC, FCIArb
Sacha Morisset Perlene Morrison Murray Murphy, QC, CPHR
James Murphy Richard Niedermayer, TEP Susan Norman
Scott Norton, QC Stephen Penney Colin Piercey
John Plowman, QC Christine Pound Charles Reagh
André Richard, QC Rory Rogers, QC Nancy Rubin, QC
Maureen Ryan, QC Mick Ryan, QC Rebecca Saturley
Colm St. Roch Seviour, QC Barbara Smith, QC Harold Smith, QC
Paul Smith Lawrence Stordy, QC Gavin Stuttard
Ian Sutherland Brian Tabor, QC Mark Tector
Chantal Thibodeau, QC Candace Thomas, QC James Travers, QC
Robert Vincent, QC Ian Wallace Kim Walsh
Shelley Wood Rodney Zdebiak

Best Lawyers 2019 “Lawyer of the Year”:

Dan Boone, QC – Corporate and Commercial Litigation
Lydia Bugden – Corporate Law
Robert Dysart – Insurance Law
Bruce Grant, QC – Banking and Finance Law
Robert Grant, QC – Corporate and Commercial Litigation
Neil Jacobs, QC – Insolvency and Financial Restructuring
Paul Kiley – Banking and Finance Law
Robert MacKeigan, QC – Insolvency and Financial Restructuring
Allison McCarthy – Corporate Law
Carman McCormick, QC – Health Care Law
Kenneth McCullogh, QC – Construction Law
Gerald McMackin, QC – Trusts and Estates
David Miller, QC – Product Liability Law
Will Moreira, QC, FCIArb – Maritime Law
Perlene Morrison – Real Estate Law
Richard Niedermayer, TEP – Trusts and Estates
Scott Norton, QC – Legal Malpractice Law
Maureen Ryan, QC – Mergers and Acquisitions Law
Paul Smith – Banking and Finance Law
Gavin Stuttard – Securities Law
James Travers, QC – Corporate Law



Search Archive

Generic filters


Benchmark Litigation Canada names Jason Woycheshyn as Atlantics Litigator of the Year

May 11, 2023

Halifax Partner Jason Woycheshyn was recognized as “Atlantics Litigator of the Year”  by Benchmark Litigation Canada at a gala event held in Toronto last evening. Jason’s broad national practice focuses on litigation, arbitration and dispute…

Read More

Canadian Legal Lexpert Directory lists 79 Firm lawyers as top legal talent

March 1, 2023

The 2023 Canadian Legal Lexpert Directory has listed 79 Stewart McKelvey lawyers as leading practitioners. Lexpert determines this national listing through an annual peer survey across a variety of practice areas, including banking and finance,…

Read More

Deanne MacLeod, Halifax Partner, appointed King’s Counsel

February 9, 2023

Deanne MacLeod, Partner in our Halifax office, has been appointed King’s Counsel. The announcement was made earlier this week by Justice Minister and Attorney General of Nova Scotia, Brad Johns. This prestigious honour is awarded…

Read More

Chief Executive Officer & Managing Partner, Lydia Bugden, K.C. appointed to the Board of Directors of Net Zero Atlantic

February 1, 2023

Congratulations to Chief Executive Officer & Managing Partner, Lydia Bugden, K.C., on her recent appointment to the Board of Directors of Net Zero Atlantic. Net Zero Atlantic strives to bring together senior leaders and decision makers…

Read More

Stewart McKelvey lawyers support The Housing Trust of Nova Scotia to make progress on affordable housing

January 20, 2023

In concert with The Housing Trust of Nova Scotia, the Province recently announced significant support for housing options for healthcare workers. An $8 million investment in transitional, modular housing projects will help provide housing for…

Read More

Stewart McKelvey welcomes eight new Partners

December 20, 2022

Stewart McKelvey is pleased to announce the following eight lawyers who will be admitted as Partners, effective January 1, 2023: Charlottetown Donald Cameron Dalton McGuinty, Jr. Halifax Kyle Hartlen  Daniel MacKenzie Dante Manna Christena McIsaac…

Read More

Halifax Partner Grant Machum, ICD.D, appointed Chair of the Board of Governors of the Art Gallery of Nova Scotia

December 16, 2022

We are pleased to share that Halifax Partner Grant Machum, ICD.D, has been appointed Chair of the Board of Governors of the Art Gallery of Nova Scotia. Grant has served on the Board since 2020…

Read More

Perlene Morrison, Charlottetown Partner, appointed King’s Counsel

December 6, 2022

Perlene Morrison, Partner in our Charlottetown office, has been appointed King’s Counsel. The announcement was made December 5 by Justice and Public Safety Minister and Attorney General of Prince Edward Island, Darlene Compton. This prestigious honour recognizes exemplary lawyers for…

Read More

Halifax partner Burtley Francis named a Lexpert® Rising Star for his outstanding contributions to the practice of law and to his community

November 22, 2022

Honouring excellence in the field of business law and litigation across Canada, Burtley Francis, partner in our Halifax office, is a 2022 recipient of the Lexpert® Rising Star: Leading Lawyer Under 40 award. Winners of this award have…

Read More

Stewart McKelvey welcomes two newly admitted lawyers to our Halifax team

November 18, 2022

Following bar admissions today in Nova Scotia, we are pleased to congratulate our Articled Clerks on the next stage of their career, and we welcome Annelise Harnanan and Nikolas Shymko as new Associates in our…

Read More

Search Archive

Generic filters

Scroll To Top