Skip to content

The Best Lawyers™ in Canada lists Firm lawyers as leaders in more than 40 practice areas

In the 16th edition of The Best Lawyers™ in Canada, 78 lawyers from Stewart McKelvey are listed as leaders in 44 different practice areas. Fifteen of these individuals have also been recognized as a Best Lawyers® 2022 “Lawyer of the Year”, which is given to those in each practice and metropolitan area with the highest overall peer feedback.

Best Lawyers is the oldest and most respected peer-review publication in the legal profession. Inclusion in Best Lawyers is based entirely on peer-review and allows leading lawyers to share their opinion about the professional abilities of their colleagues within the same geographical and legal practice area.

Rob Aske Art Barry, QC Daniela Bassan, QC
Clarence Bennett Cynthia Benson, QC Ian Bilek
Rémy Boudreau Lydia Bugden, QC Andrew Burke
Mark Bursey, TEP Hugh Cameron, QC Spencer Campbell, QC
Level Chan Maurice Chiasson, QC Janet Clark, CPHR
Jonathan Coady, QC Sheree Conlon, QC Geoffrey Connolly, QC, P.Eng.
Paul Coxworthy Jim Cruickshank James Dickson, QC, P.Eng.
Rick Dunlop Luc Elsliger Paul Festeryga, QC 
Andrew Fraser, QC Robert Grant QC Paul Harquail, ACIArb
Richard Hirsch Neil Jacobs, QC Sadira Jan
Brian Johnston, QC Colleen Keyes Paul Kiley
Cathy Lahey, QC Thomas Laughlin, QC Neal L.D. Leard
James LeMesurier, QC Fraser MacFadyen Geoffrey Machum, QC, ICD.D
Robert MacKeigan, QC Timothy Matthews, QC Allison McCarthy
Kenneth McCullogh, QC Frederick McElman, CM, QC Peter McLellan, QC
Gerald McMackin, QC Greg Moores Will Moreira, QC, FCIArb
Sacha Morisset Perlene Morrison James Murphy
Murray Murphy, QC, CPHR Richard Niedermayer, QC, TEP Susan Norman
Stephen Penney Colin Piercey Christine Pound, ICD.D
Charles Reagh André Richard, QC Rory Rogers, QC
Nancy Rubin, QC Maureen Ryan, QC Mick Ryan, QC
Rebecca Saturley Colm St. Roch Seviour, QC Barbara Smith, QC
Harold Smith, QC Paul Smith Lawrence Stordy, QC
Gavin Stuttard Ian Sutherland Brian Tabor, QC
Mark Tector Chantal Thibodeau, QC James Travers, QC
Kim Walsh Shelley Wood Rodney Zdebiak

Best Lawyers® 2022 “Lawyer of the Year”:

Rob Aske, Halifax – Technology Law
Daniela Bassan, QC, Halifax – Intellectual Property Law
Clarence Bennett, Saint John – Labour and Employment Law
Cynthia Benson, QC, Saint John – Insurance Law
Andrew Burke, Halifax – Securities Law
Jonathan Coady, QC, Charlottetown – Administrative and Public Law
Paul Coxworthy, St. John’s – Health Care Law
Colleen Keyes, Halifax – Leveraged Buyouts and Private Equity Law
Allison McCarthy, Fredericton – Banking and Finance Law
Christine Pound, ICD.D, Halifax – Banking and Finance Law
Rory Rogers, QC, Halifax – Construction Law
Rebecca Saturley, Halifax – Labour and Employment Law
Paul Smith, Saint John – Corporate Law
Ian Sutherland, Halifax – Real Estate Law
Chantal Thibodeau, QC, Moncton – Insurance Law



Search Archive

Generic filters


Chief Executive Officer & Managing Partner, Lydia Bugden, K.C. appointed to the Board of Directors of Net Zero Atlantic

February 1, 2023

Congratulations to Chief Executive Officer & Managing Partner, Lydia Bugden, K.C., on her recent appointment to the Board of Directors of Net Zero Atlantic. Net Zero Atlantic strives to bring together senior leaders and decision makers…

Read More

Stewart McKelvey lawyers support The Housing Trust of Nova Scotia to make progress on affordable housing

January 20, 2023

In concert with The Housing Trust of Nova Scotia, the Province recently announced significant support for housing options for healthcare workers. An $8 million investment in transitional, modular housing projects will help provide housing for…

Read More

Stewart McKelvey welcomes eight new Partners

December 20, 2022

Stewart McKelvey is pleased to announce the following eight lawyers who will be admitted as Partners, effective January 1, 2023: Charlottetown Donald Cameron Dalton McGuinty, Jr. Halifax Kyle Hartlen  Daniel MacKenzie Dante Manna Christena McIsaac…

Read More

Halifax Partner Grant Machum, ICD.D, appointed Chair of the Board of Governors of the Art Gallery of Nova Scotia

December 16, 2022

We are pleased to share that Halifax Partner Grant Machum, ICD.D, has been appointed Chair of the Board of Governors of the Art Gallery of Nova Scotia. Grant has served on the Board since 2020…

Read More

Perlene Morrison, Charlottetown Partner, appointed King’s Counsel

December 6, 2022

Perlene Morrison, Partner in our Charlottetown office, has been appointed King’s Counsel. The announcement was made December 5 by Justice and Public Safety Minister and Attorney General of Prince Edward Island, Darlene Compton. This prestigious honour recognizes exemplary lawyers for…

Read More

Halifax partner Burtley Francis named a Lexpert® Rising Star for his outstanding contributions to the practice of law and to his community

November 22, 2022

Honouring excellence in the field of business law and litigation across Canada, Burtley Francis, partner in our Halifax office, is a 2022 recipient of the Lexpert® Rising Star: Leading Lawyer Under 40 award. Winners of this award have…

Read More

Stewart McKelvey welcomes two newly admitted lawyers to our Halifax team

November 18, 2022

Following bar admissions today in Nova Scotia, we are pleased to congratulate our Articled Clerks on the next stage of their career, and we welcome Annelise Harnanan and Nikolas Shymko as new Associates in our…

Read More

Clarence Bennett, Managing Partner, Saint John, appointed King’s Counsel

November 17, 2022

Managing Partner of our Saint John office, Clarence Bennett, has been appointed King’s Counsel, as announced by Lt.-Gov. Brenda Murphy earlier this week. This prestigious honour is given to those who have demonstrated outstanding practice, shown integrity and leadership,…

Read More

Saint John Partner, James LeMesurier, K.C., named a Fellow of the College of Labor & Employment Lawyers

November 14, 2022

Congratulations to James LeMesurier, K.C., Partner in our Saint John office, on his induction as a Fellow of the College of Labor & Employment Lawyers, at their recent Induction Dinner in Washington, DC. The first…

Read More

Chief Executive Officer & Managing Partner, Lydia Bugden, K.C. appointed to the Board of Directors of Ovarian Cancer Canada

October 31, 2022

Congratulations to our Chief Executive Officer & Managing Partner, Lydia Bugden, K.C., on her recent appointment to the Board of Directors of Ovarian Cancer Canada. Lydia shares her energy and leadership in the advancement of…

Read More

Search Archive

Generic filters

Scroll To Top