Skip to content

Energy

Our renewable energy team is comprised of the region’s leaders in providing legal advice and guidance to developers, contractors, independent power producers, provincial utilities, lenders and underwriters, and energy market participants as they navigate the evolving regulatory regimes associated with permitting, developing, constructing, financing and investing in renewable and clean energy projects. We advise both governments and proponents on various aspects of the procurement process and documentation for major renewable energy projects as well as to parties on joint venture arrangements.

Our experience includes projects involving wind, solar, biomass, geothermal, nuclear, hydro, and, as you might expect from a firm based on the east coast, tidal energy. We have acted on:

  • Hydroelectricity generation and transmission
  • Power purchase agreements
  • Interconnection processes and operating agreements
  • Compliance with regulatory and environmental requirements
  • Land leases to permit development of renewable energy facilities
  • Project financings
  • Procurement
  •  Tax structures
  • Environmental assessments
  • Carbon capture utilization and storage

Insights

Throughout the year, our lawyers practicing in renewable energy provide written insights and updates on recent case law and legislation in the region and beyond. To learn more about relevant topics, click on one of the following titles:

SHARE

Associated Lawyers

  • All
  • Halifax
  • Saint John
  • St. John's
Craig

Matthew N. Craig

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8827

mcraig@stewartmckelvey.com

Grant
Robert Grant

Robert Grant,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3328

rgrant@stewartmckelvey.com

Harquail
J. Paul M. Harquail

J. Paul M. Harquail,
ACIArb

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.8313

+1.506.639.0974

pharquail@stewartmckelvey.com

Jan
Sadira Jan

Sadira Jan

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1701

sjan@stewartmckelvey.com

Leard
Neal L.D. Leard

Neal L.D. Leard

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.634.6416

nleard@stewartmckelvey.com

Moores

Greg Moores

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.5797

gmoores@stewartmckelvey.com

Randell
David Randell

David Randell

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3309

+1.902.476.8760

drandell@stewartmckelvey.com

Rubin
Nancy Rubin

Nancy Rubin,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3337

nrubin@stewartmckelvey.com

Samms

G. John Samms

Associate

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8891

gjsamms@stewartmckelvey.com

Scroll To Top