Skip to content

Professional Regulation & Misconduct

Stewart McKelvey lawyers act for professional bodies and for individual professionals in defence of liability claims, as well as acting for professional bodies in regulatory and disciplinary matters.

In their role as counsel to professional organizations, they draft, maintain and administer private legislation, by-laws and rules, and advise and participate in all aspects of disciplinary matters.

Stewart McKelvey has acted as legal counsel in well over 200 discipline cases, including advising Complaints Committees, Discipline Committees, Boards on Appeal and acting as counsel in discipline cases before the Courts. Our lawyers practice “preventive law” in respect of discipline cases, making every effort to ensure that the decisions made by Committees or Boards meet the standards required by the legislation so that those decisions may stand and the possibilities of expensive appeals are reduced for the professional associations.

Stewart McKelvey’s intimate knowledge of regulatory organizations allows us to remain on top of current developments and issues that are of specific interest to our clients.

 

Insights

SHARE

Associated Lawyers

  • All
  • Charlottetown
  • Fredericton
  • Halifax
  • Moncton
  • Saint John
  • St. John's
Adesanya

Folu Adesanya

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1733

fadesanya@stewartmckelvey.com

Caplan
Tyana R. Caplan

Tyana R. Caplan

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3356

tcaplan@stewartmckelvey.com

Clark
Janet Clark

Janet Clark,
CPHR

Partner

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4562

jclark@stewartmckelvey.com

Dever Letson
Sarah Dever Letson

Sarah Dever Letson,
CIPP/C

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.2764

sletson@stewartmckelvey.com

Doyle

Curtis Doyle

Associate

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4520 x 74520

cdoyle@stewartmckelvey.com

Fontaine
Renée M. Fontaine

Renée M. Fontaine

Partner

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.853.1973

rfontaine@stewartmckelvey.com

Gaudet

Tristian J. Gaudet

Associate

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.383.2234

tgaudet@stewartmckelvey.com

Grant
Robert Grant

Robert Grant,
K.C.

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3328

rgrant@stewartmckelvey.com

Greenough

Lara Greenough

Partner

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.443.0151

lgreenough@stewartmckelvey.com

Harding
Danielle Harding

Danielle Harding

Partner

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.443.0124

dharding@stewartmckelvey.com

Heighton

Mark Heighton

Associate

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.443.0122

mheighton@stewartmckelvey.com

Hogan

Sarah Hogan

Associate

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8882

shogan@stewartmckelvey.com

Korens

Christa Korens

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3357

ckorens@stewartmckelvey.com

Landry

Manon Landry

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.490.8583

mlandry@stewartmckelvey.com

Laughlin
Thomas Laughlin

Thomas Laughlin,
K.C.

Partner

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4554

tlaughlin@stewartmckelvey.com

LeBlanc Hultberg

Julie LeBlanc Hultberg

Partner

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.853.1964

jleblanchultberg@stewartmckelvey.com

MacKenzie

Daniel MacKenzie

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1769

dmackenzie@stewartmckelvey.com

MacKnight

Evan MacKnight

Associate

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.443.0131

emacknight@stewartmckelvey.com

MacPherson
Jennifer MacPherson

Jennifer MacPherson

Partner

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4565

jmacpherson@stewartmckelvey.com

Marks
Josie Marks

Josie Marks

Partner

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.383.2304

jmarks@stewartmckelvey.com

McCarthy

Katherine McCarthy

Associate

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.1970 x22795

kmccarthy@stewartmckelvey.com

McElman
Frederick McElman

Frederick McElman,
CM, K.C.

Partner

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.444.8979

+1.506.461.2153

fmcelman@stewartmckelvey.com

McSorley

Erin McSorley

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.8819

emcsorley@stewartmckelvey.com

Mecking

Sheila Mecking

Partner

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.444.6982

slanctot@stewartmckelvey.com

Nash

Kathleen Nash

Associate

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.444.8972

knash@stewartmckelvey.com

Newman

Hilary Newman

Associate

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4590

hnewman@stewartmckelvey.com

Ryan
Mick Ryan

Mick Ryan,
K.C.

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3316

wryan@stewartmckelvey.com

Seviour
Sean Seviour

Sean Seviour

Associate

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4519

sseviour@stewartmckelvey.com

Sullivan
Chad Sullivan

Chad Sullivan

Partner

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.443.0126

csullivan@stewartmckelvey.com

Trask

Ruth Trask

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8893

rtrask@stewartmckelvey.com

Woodworth

Laura Woodworth

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3349

lwoodworth@stewartmckelvey.com

Woycheshyn

Jason Woycheshyn

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3380

jwoycheshyn@stewartmckelvey.com

Young
Julie Young

Julie Young

Associate

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.383.2307

jyoung@stewartmckelvey.com

Zdebiak

Rodney Zdebiak

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8841

+1.709.685.2434

rzdebiak@stewartmckelvey.com

Scroll To Top