: Stewart McKelvey Lawyers Recognized as Leaders in the 2007 Canadian Lexpert Legal Directory

April 20, 2007

Stewart McKelvey announced today that 38 members of the firm have been recognized as leading practitioners in their respective areas of law in the 2007 Canadian Lexpert Legal Directory.

The annual Lexpert Guide identifies leading law firms and lawyers across Canada in a range of areas of law based on input from informed users and observers of the provision of legal services.

“Our firm has established a reputation of attracting some of the best and brightest legal minds,” says the Chair of Stewart McKelvey’s Partnership Board, Bill Goss, Q.C. “We are honoured to have so many of our lawyers included as leading practitioners in their respective fields."

The lawyers identified in the directory are listed below by major areas of law:


Hayward Aiton, Q.C.
Rob Aske
Lydia Bugden
George Caines, Q.C.
Maurice Chiasson
Bruce Grant, Q.C.
Richard Jones, Q.C.
Douglas Mathews, Q.C.
John McFarlane, Q.C.
Charles Reagh
James Travers, Q.C.


William Goss, Q.C.
Brian Johnston, Q.C.
James LeMesurier
Augustus Lilly, Q.C.
Donald McDougall, Q.C.
Peter McLellan, Q.C.
Gordon Petrie, Q.C.
John Plowman
Harold Smith, Q.C.


Art Barry, Q.C.
James Chipman
David Farrar, Q.C.
Robert Grant, Q.C.
Charles LeBlond, Q.C.
Geoffrey Machum, Q.C.
Carman McCormick, Q.C.
Kenneth McCullogh, Q.C.
David Miller, Q.C.
Nancy Murray, Q.C.
Scott Norton, Q.C.
John Rogers, Q.C.
Nancy Rubin
William Ryan, Q.C.


William Moreira, Q.C.
Richard Southcott


Lynne Burnham, Q.C.
Paul Festeryga

Stewart McKelvey is one of Canada's 15 largest law firms, with over 210 lawyers and 300 staff in six offices across the region. It was recently ranked Atlantic Canada's Number One Law Firm, according to Canadian Lawyer magazine in its second annual ranking of regional law firms. Stewart McKelvey also won the magazine's previous ranking in 2005.

+ Quick Guide