Skip to content

Eighty-nine lawyers recognized in Best Lawyers in Canada© 2018, 13 of which are “Lawyer of the Year”

Best Lawyers in Canada© 2018 has recognized 89 lawyers from Stewart McKelvey, representing more than 40 areas of practice, as leaders in their fields, 13 of which have also been named a Best Lawyers® 2018 “Lawyer of the Year”.

Best Lawyers is the oldest and most respected peer-review publication in the legal profession. Inclusion in Best Lawyers is based entirely on peer-review and allows leading lawyers to share their opinion about the professional abilities of their colleagues within the same geographical and legal practice area. The “Lawyer of the Year” designation is given to the lawyer in each practice and metropolitan area with the highest overall peer-feedback.

Best Lawyers in Canada 2018:

Lewis Andrews, QC Brian Johnston, QC Scott Norton, QC
Rob Aske Colleen Keyes Stephen Penney
Art Barry, QC Paul Kiley Colin Piercey
Clarence Bennett Cathy Lahey, QC John Plowman, QC
Cynthia Benson Thomas Laughlin Charles Reagh
Ian Bilek Neal Leard André Richard, QC
Dan Boone, QC Charles LeBlond, QC Rory Rogers, QC
Lydia Bugden James LeMesurier, QC Nancy Rubin, QC
Andrew Burke Fraser MacFadyen Mick Ryan, QC
Mark Bursey Geoffrey Machum, QC, ICD.D Maureen Ryan
George Caines, QC Robert MacKeigan, QC Rebecca Saturley
Spencer Campbell, QC Thomas MacQuarrie, QC Colm St. Roch Seviour
Maurice Chiasson, QC Douglas Mathews, QC Barbara Smith, QC
Janet Clark, CPHR Timothy Matthews, QC Harold Smith, QC
Geoffrey Connolly, QC, P.Eng. Allison McCarthy Paul Smith
Paul Coxworthy Carman McCormick, QC David Stewart, QC
Jim Cruickshank Kenneth McCullogh, QC Lawrence Stordy, QC
James Dickson, QC, P.Eng. Frederick McElman, CM, QC Gavin Stuttard
Rick Dunlop John McFarlane, QC Ian Sutherland
Robert Dysart Peter McLellan, QC Brian Tabor, QC
Paul Festeryga, QC Gerald McMackin, QC Mark Tector
Andrew Fraser David Miller, QC Chantal Thibodeau
Jim Gormley, QC Greg Moores Candace Thomas, QC
Bruce Grant, QC Will Moreira, QC, FCIArb James Travers, QC
Robert Grant, QC Sacha Morisset Robert Vincent, QC
Elizabeth Haldane Perlene Morrison Ian Wallace
Gregory Harding James Murphy Kim Walsh
Paul Harquail, ACIArb Murray Murphy, QC, CPHR Shelley Wood
Richard Hirsch Richard Niedermayer, TEP Rodney Zdebiak
Neil Jacobs, QC Susan Norman

Best Lawyers 2018 “Lawyer of the Year”:

Dan Boone, QC – Health Care Law
Lydia Bugden – Banking and Finance Law
Geoffrey Connolly, QC, P.Eng. – Real Estate Law
Jim Cruickshank – Corporate Law
Colleen Keyes – Mergers and Acquisitions Law
Paul Kiley – Corporate Law
Allison McCarthy – Banking and Finance Law
James Murphy – Real Estate Law
Rory Rogers, QC – Construction Law
Maureen Ryan – Corporate Law
Colm St. Roch Seviour – Corporate and Commercial Litigation
Paul Smith – Corporate Law
James Travers, QC – Banking and Finance Law



Search Archive


Richard Niedermayer, K.C., TEP, reappointed as national deputy chair for STEP Canada

September 6, 2023

We are pleased to announce that Halifax Partner Richard Niedermayer, K.C., TEP has been reappointed as a Deputy Chair of the Board of Directors with the Society of Trust and Estate Practitioners (“STEP”) Canada, for another two…

Read More

The Best Lawyers™ in Canada lists 83 Firm lawyers as leaders in more than 40 practice areas

August 24, 2023

In the latest edition of The Best Lawyers™ in Canada, 83 lawyers from Stewart McKelvey are listed as leaders in 42 different practice areas. Nineteen of these individuals have also been recognized as a Best Lawyers™…

Read More

Conor O’Neil elected national secretary for the Canadian Bar Association Construction and Infrastructure section

August 22, 2023

We are pleased to share that Saint John Partner Conor O’Neil, P.Eng. has been elected national secretary for the Construction and Infrastructure section of the Canadian Bar Association. Conor maintains a practice in commercial litigation…

Read More

St. John’s Partner, Twila Reid, ICD.D, named a Fellow of the College of Labor & Employment Lawyers

June 26, 2023

Congratulations to Twila Reid, ICD.D, Partner in our St. John’s office, on being named a Fellow of the College of Labor & Employment Lawyers. Twila is one of the Atlantic region’s most experienced labour and…

Read More

Stewart McKelvey welcomes seven newly admitted lawyers to our Halifax team

June 19, 2023

Following bar admission ceremonies last week in Nova Scotia, we are pleased to congratulate our Articled Clerks on the next stage of their career, and we welcome Colton Smith, Graeme Hiebert, Jahvon Delaney, James Pinchak,…

Read More

Stewart McKelvey welcomes five newly admitted lawyers to our New Brunswick teams

June 13, 2023

Following bar admission ceremonies this week in New Brunswick, we are pleased to congratulate our Articled Clerks on the next stage of their career, and we welcome Michiko Gartshore (Fredericton), Sean Corscadden (Fredericton), Danick Poirier (Moncton),…

Read More

Benchmark Litigation Canada names Jason Woycheshyn as Atlantics Litigator of the Year

May 11, 2023

Halifax Partner Jason Woycheshyn was recognized as “Atlantics Litigator of the Year”  by Benchmark Litigation Canada at a gala event held in Toronto last evening. Jason’s broad national practice focuses on litigation, arbitration and dispute…

Read More

Canadian Legal Lexpert Directory lists 79 Firm lawyers as top legal talent

March 1, 2023

The 2023 Canadian Legal Lexpert Directory has listed 79 Stewart McKelvey lawyers as leading practitioners. Lexpert determines this national listing through an annual peer survey across a variety of practice areas, including banking and finance,…

Read More

Deanne MacLeod, Halifax Partner, appointed King’s Counsel

February 9, 2023

Deanne MacLeod, Partner in our Halifax office, has been appointed King’s Counsel. The announcement was made earlier this week by Justice Minister and Attorney General of Nova Scotia, Brad Johns. This prestigious honour is awarded…

Read More

Chief Executive Officer & Managing Partner, Lydia Bugden, K.C. appointed to the Board of Directors of Net Zero Atlantic

February 1, 2023

Congratulations to Chief Executive Officer & Managing Partner, Lydia Bugden, K.C., on her recent appointment to the Board of Directors of Net Zero Atlantic. Net Zero Atlantic strives to bring together senior leaders and decision makers…

Read More

Search Archive

Scroll To Top