Skip to content

Cannabis

With the legalization of cannabis comes new opportunities and new legal challenges. The full-service team at Stewart McKelvey is suited to assist industry entrants and seasoned participants with a full skillset including:

  • Advising new entrants on licensing requirements, regulatory compliance, applications, and corporate structures sufficient to operate in the highly regulated environment
  • Drafting agreements specific to the cannabis industry and suitable for a variety of ancillary activities
  • Assisting with interpretation of legal regimes in a variety of jurisdictions
  • Keeping you up to date on changes to the legal landscape important to your business
  • Running prospectus exempt capital raises to get your start-up capital in place
  • Assisting with exchange listing and public offerings
  • Providing you with guidance for dealing with cannabis in the workplace

We understand more than regulation: we understand the business, from financing to production to corporate governance and beyond.

Insights

Throughout the year, our cannabis lawyers provide written insights and updates on recent case law and legislation in the region and beyond. To learn more about relevant topics, click on one of the following titles:

SHARE

Associated Lawyers

  • All
  • Halifax
  • Saint John
Chiasson
Maurice Chiasson

Maurice Chiasson,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3300

+1.902.452.8626

mchiasson@stewartmckelvey.com

Henderson

Charlotte Henderson

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.8804

chenderson@stewartmckelvey.com

Johnston

Brian Johnston,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3374

bjohnston@stewartmckelvey.com

Landry
Kevin Landry

Kevin Landry

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3359

klandry@stewartmckelvey.com

McMackin
Andrew McMackin

Andrew McMackin

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.8340

amcmackin@stewartmckelvey.com

O'Kane

Jonathan O'Kane

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.9502

jokane@stewartmckelvey.com

Pike
Scott Pike

Scott Pike

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3317

spike@stewartmckelvey.com

Pound
Christine Pound

Christine Pound,
ICD.D

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3391

+1.902.209.9267

cpound@stewartmckelvey.com

Randell
David Randell

David Randell

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3309

+1.902.476.8760

drandell@stewartmckelvey.com

Rubin
Nancy Rubin

Nancy Rubin,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3337

nrubin@stewartmckelvey.com

Tabor
Brian Tabor

Brian Tabor,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3397

btabor@stewartmckelvey.com

Scroll To Top