Skip to content

Tax

Our lawyers bring to the table significant experience in implementing complex tax planning strategies for businesses of all sizes. They regularly work with accountants, including firms across Canada and internationally, as well as with our clients’ trusted advisors, to ensure the business is operating on a tax-efficient basis. Our nationally recognized experience includes advising on:

  • Income tax
  • Excise tax
  • GST/HST
  • Capital tax issues
  • Cross border issues
  • Corporate and personal tax planning
  • Tax planning for executive compensation

Our lawyers also have significant experience in successful appeals at the Tax Court of Canada. They regularly handle our clients’ issues with the Canadian Revenue Agency regarding issues of assessments, audits, and demands for information.

SHARE

Associated Lawyers

  • All
  • Charlottetown
  • Fredericton
  • Halifax
  • Saint John
  • St. John's
Alexander

Diedre Alexander

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1726

dalexander@stewartmckelvey.com

Almon

Sarah M. Almon,
TEP

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3301

salmon@stewartmckelvey.com

Bursey
Mark Bursey

Mark Bursey,
TEP

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3371

+1.902.488.6751

mbursey@stewartmckelvey.com

Chiasson
Maurice Chiasson

Maurice Chiasson,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3300

+1.902.452.8626

mchiasson@stewartmckelvey.com

Coats

Madeleine Coats

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.8801

mcoats@stewartmckelvey.com

Cruickshank
Jim Cruickshank

Jim Cruickshank

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3394

jcruickshank@stewartmckelvey.com

Dale
Dale Jonathan

Jonathan Dale

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.5795

jdale@stewartmckelvey.com

Festeryga
Paul Festeryga

Paul Festeryga,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3302

pfesteryga@stewartmckelvey.com

Galsworthy

James Galsworthy

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3352

jgalsworthy@stewartmckelvey.com

Giacomantonio

Katherine M. Giacomantonio

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3360

kgiacomantonio@stewartmckelvey.com

Harquail
J. Paul M. Harquail

J. Paul M. Harquail,
ACIArb

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.8313

+1.506.639.0974

pharquail@stewartmckelvey.com

Haynes
Graham Haynes

Graham Haynes

Associate

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.8331

ghaynes@stewartmckelvey.com

Hill
Andrew Hill

Andrew Hill

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1718

ahill@stewartmckelvey.com

MacKenzie
Daniel MacKenzie

Daniel MacKenzie

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1769

dmackenzie@stewartmckelvey.com

Matthews
Timothy Matthews

Timothy Matthews,
QC, TEP

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3325

tmatthews@stewartmckelvey.com

McCarthy
Allison McCarthy

Allison McCarthy

Partner

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.444.8977

+1.506.461.2218

amccarthy@stewartmckelvey.com

McCumber
Brent McCumber

Brent McCumber

Associate

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.8314

bmccumber@stewartmckelvey.com

McIsaac

Christena McIsaac,
CPA, CA

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3305

cmcisaac@stewartmckelvey.com

Ng

Chee Ng

Associate

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4586

cng@stewartmckelvey.com

Niedermayer
Richard Niedermayer

Richard Niedermayer,
QC, TEP

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3339

rniedermayer@stewartmckelvey.com

O'Kane

Jonathan O'Kane

Associate

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.9502

jokane@stewartmckelvey.com

Reed

Joel Reed

Associate

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.2785

jreed@stewartmckelvey.com

Roth

Daniel Roth

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3367

droth@stewartmckelvey.com

Ryan
Mick Ryan

Mick Ryan,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3316

wryan@stewartmckelvey.com

Scott
Sara Scott

Sara Scott,
P.Eng.

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3363

sscott@stewartmckelvey.com

Stapleford
Stephanie Stapleford

Stephanie Stapleford

Associate

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.443.0155

sstapleford@stewartmckelvey.com

Wedlake
David Wedlake

David Wedlake

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1705

dwedlake@stewartmckelvey.com

Whelan

Allison Whelan,
LL.M (Tax)

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8897

awhelan@stewartmckelvey.com

Scroll To Top