Skip to content

The Best Lawyers™ in Canada lists 83 Firm lawyers as leaders in more than 40 practice areas

In the latest edition of The Best Lawyers™ in Canada, 83 lawyers from Stewart McKelvey are listed as leaders in 42 different practice areas. Nineteen of these individuals have also been recognized as a Best Lawyers™ 2024 “Lawyer of the Year”, which is given to those in each practice and metropolitan area with the highest overall peer feedback. We are also pleased to announce that four of our associates have been listed as Best Lawyers™ 2024 “Ones to Watch”, which is given to lawyers who are earlier in their careers for outstanding professional excellence.

Best Lawyers is the oldest and most respected peer-review publication in the legal profession. Inclusion in Best Lawyers™ is based entirely on peer-review and allows leading lawyers to share their opinion about the professional abilities of their colleagues within the same geographical and legal practice area.

Allison McCarthy Ian Sutherland Paul Festeryga, K.C.
Allison Whelan, LL.M (Tax) J. Andrew Fraser, K.C. Paul Kiley
André G. Richard, K.C. J. Paul M. Harquail, ACIArb Paul Coxworthy
Andrew Burke James Travers, K.C. Paul Smith
Art Barry, K.C. James F. LeMesurier, K.C. Perlene Morrison, K.C.
Barbara E. Smith, K.C. James M. Dickson, K.C., P.Eng Rebecca Saturley
Bill Sheppard Janet Clark, CPHR Rémy Boudreau
Brian Johnston, K.C. Jim Cruickshank Richard Hirsch
Brian Tabor, K.C. Jonathan Dale Richard Niedermayer, K.C., TEP
Cathy Lahey, K.C. Kenneth McCullogh, K.C. (Retired) Rick Dunlop
Charles Reagh Kim Walsh Robert Grant, K.C.
Christine Pound, ICD.D Kimberly Bungay Robert G. MacKeigan, K.C.
Clarence Bennett, K.C. Laurie Jones Rob Aske
Colin Piercey Lawrence Stordy, K.C. Rory Rogers, K.C.
Colleen Keyes Level Chan Rodney Zdebiak
Colm St. Roch Seviour, K.C. Luc J. Elsliger Ruth Trask
Cynthia Benson, K.C. Lydia Bugden, K.C. Sacha Morisset
D. Fraser MacFadyen Mark Bursey, TEP Sadira Jan
Daniela Bassan, K.C. Mark Tector Sarah M. Almon, TEP
Frederick McElman, CM, K.C. Mathieu Poirier, TEP Shelley A. Wood
G. Grant Machum, ICD.D Matthew Newell Sophie MacDonald, K.C.
Gavin Stuttard Maureen Ryan, K.C. Spencer Campbell, K.C.
Geoffrey Connolly, K.C., FEC, P.Eng. Maurice Chiasson, K.C. Stephen Penney
Geoffrey Machum, K.C., ICD.D. Mick Ryan, K.C. Susan Norman
Gerald McMackin, K.C. Murray L. Murphy, K.C., CPHR Tauna Staniland, K.C.
Greg Moores Nancy Rubin, K.C. Timothy Matthews, K.C., TEP
Hugh Cameron, K.C. Neal L.D. Leard Will Moreira K.C., FCIArb
Ian Bilek Neil Jacobs, K.C.


Best Lawyers™ 2024 “Lawyer of the Year”:

Allison McCarthy, Fredericton – Banking and Finance Law
Charles Reagh, Halifax – Corporate Law
Christine Pound, ICD.D, Halifax – Banking and Finance Law/Mergers and Acquisitions Law
Colin Piercey, Halifax – Corporate and Commercial Litigation
Colm St. Roch Seviour, K.C., St. John’s – Natural Resources Law
Gavin Stuttard, Halifax – Securities Law
James Travers, K.C., Charlottetown – Banking and Finance Law
Kenneth McCullogh, K.C. (Retired), Saint John – Construction Law/Corporate and Commercial Litigation
Lawrence Stordy, K.C., Halifax – Leveraged Buyouts and Private Equity Law
Maureen Ryan, K.C., St. John’s – Corporate Law/Mergers and Acquisitions Law
Murray L. Murphy, K.C., CPHR, Charlottetown – Labour and Employment Law
Paul Festeryga, K.C., Halifax – Tax Law
Paul Smith, Saint John – Corporate Law
Richard Hirsch, Halifax – Intellectual Property Law
Robert Grant, K.C., Halifax – Energy Regulatory Law
Robert G. MacKeigan, K.C., Halifax – Insolvency and Financial Restructuring Law
Rob Aske, Halifax – Technology Law
Timothy Matthews, K.C., TEP, Halifax – Trusts and Estates
Will Moreira K.C., FCIArb, Halifax – Maritime Law

Best Lawyers™ 2024 “Ones to Watch”:

Sara Espinal Henao, Halifax – Immigration Law
Tyler James, Halifax – Corporate Law
Erin McSorley, Halifax – Insurance Law
Julie Young, Moncton – Professional Malpractice Law





Search Archive


Three Halifax Partners appointed King’s Counsel

March 28, 2024

We are pleased to announce that three Halifax Partners have been appointed King’s Counsel. – Burtley Francis – Colin Piercey – Rebecca Saturley The announcement was made yesterday by Nova Scotia Attorney General and Justice…

Read More

Stewart McKelvey appoints new Managing Partner in Saint John

March 21, 2024

We are pleased to announce the appointment of Sarah Dever Letson, CIPP/C as the new Managing Partner in our Saint John office. Managing Partners play a significant leadership role in our local offices, entrusted with…

Read More

Canadian Legal Lexpert Directory lists 73 Firm lawyers as top legal talent

March 5, 2024

The 2024 Canadian Legal Lexpert Directory has listed 73 Stewart McKelvey lawyers as leading practitioners. Lexpert determines this national listing through an annual peer survey across a variety of practice areas, including banking and finance,…

Read More

St. John’s Partner Colm St. Roch Seviour, K.C., inducted as a Fellow of the American College of Trial Lawyers

March 4, 2024

We are pleased to announce that Colm St. Roch Seviour, K.C., lawyer in our St. John’s office, has been inducted as a Fellow of the American College of Trial Lawyers (ACTL) at its Annual Spring…

Read More

Stewart McKelvey signs on to Supplier Diversity Pilot Program with the Canadian Aboriginal and Minority Supplier Council

February 14, 2024

Stewart McKelvey is proud to announce we have signed on to the Supplier Diversity Pilot Program, a groundbreaking initiative from the Canadian Aboriginal and Minority Supplier Council (CAMSC). We are pleased to join other industry…

Read More

Madeleine Coats receives Trust and Estate Practitioner designation

February 14, 2024

Halifax lawyer Madeleine Coats has become a certified Trust and Estate Practitioner (TEP), following the completion of membership requirements for the Society of Trust and Estate Practitioners (“STEP”). STEP is a global professional body, with…

Read More

St. John’s Partner, Maureen Ryan, K.C., elected to board of the Employer’s Council of Newfoundland and Labrador

January 5, 2024

Stewart McKelvey is pleased to announce that St. John’s Partner Maureen Ryan, K.C., has been elected to the board of the Employer’s Council of Newfoundland and Labrador. Maureen has over 30 years of experience in…

Read More

Stewart McKelvey appoints new Managing Partner in St. John’s

January 4, 2024

We are pleased to announce the appointment of Allison Whelan, LL.M (Tax) as the new Managing Partner in our St. John’s office, effective January 1, 2024. Managing Partners play a significant leadership role in our local…

Read More

Rod Zdebiak, St. John’s Partner, appointed King’s Counsel

January 4, 2024

Rod Zdebiak, Partner in our St. John’s office, has been appointed King’s Counsel. The announcement was made last week by The Honourable John Hogan K.C., Minister of Justice and Public Safety and Attorney General. This…

Read More

Happy Holidays/Joyeuses Fêtes

December 20, 2023

Happy Holidays from / Joyeuses Fêtes de la part de Stewart McKelvey.

Read More

Search Archive

Scroll To Top