Skip to content

Environmental & Natural Resources

Natural resources, including fisheries, agriculture, forestry and mining, have historically been the foundation of the economy in Atlantic Canada. In recent years, power generation and oil and gas production and distribution, including the development of the offshore, have had a positive economic impact on the region. Today, we are seeing a resurgence in the mining industry as well as the growth of new resource-based enterprises, such as aquaculture, renewable energy initiatives, and the harnessing of the power of oceans and ocean products. In order for these industries, whether established or emerging, to be sustainable, they need experienced legal counsel to help navigate the attendant regulatory regimes within which they must operate. If you are involved in an industry dependent on the region’s natural resources such as base minerals, forestry, oceans and ocean tech, iron, gypsum, salt or fossil fuels, our lawyers can provide both legal and strategic advice.

Stewart McKelvey lawyers will draw on years of experience counselling resource-based businesses, individuals, and enterprises throughout the natural resources and environmental sectors in Atlantic Canada to give you the best advice. Our experience and expertise include:

  • Mining law matters, including the issuance of mineral titles and related surface rights, mineral rights, transactional matters of all types and securities law advice.
  • Wind farm project development and management, including environmental assessment and the full range of governmental title issuances and permitting.
  • Knowledge and respect for aboriginal title and rights claims, as well as the conclusion and implementation of impact and benefit agreements and aboriginal partnerships and co-ventures.
  • Advice to the key players in offshore oil production projects, in addition to acting regularly for oil refineries and transshipment facilities across Atlantic Canada.
  • Being the trusted advisor to the largest aquaculture business in the region.

Insights

Throughout the year, our environmental and natural resources lawyers provide written insights and updates on recent case law and legislation in the region and beyond. To learn more about relevant topics, click on one of the following titles:

SHARE

Associated Lawyers

  • All
  • Charlottetown
  • Fredericton
  • Halifax
  • Saint John
  • St. John's
Bassan

Daniela Bassan,
K.C.

Partner & Trademark Agent

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3354

dbassan@stewartmckelvey.com

Bilek
Ian Bilek

Ian Bilek

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3399

ibilek@stewartmckelvey.com

Brodeur

Gabriel D. Brodeur

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.5791

gbrodeur@stewartmckelvey.com

Campbell
Spencer Campbell

Spencer Campbell,
K.C.

Partner

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4549

scampbell@stewartmckelvey.com

Chai
Michelle Chai

Michelle Chai

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1704

mchai@stewartmckelvey.com

Coxworthy

Paul Coxworthy

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8830

pcoxworthy@stewartmckelvey.com

Craig

Matthew N. Craig

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8827

mcraig@stewartmckelvey.com

Dickson
James M. Dickson

James M. Dickson,
K.C., P.Eng.

Counsel

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3308

+1.902.456.0117

jdickson@stewartmckelvey.com

Grant
Robert Grant

Robert Grant,
K.C.

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3328

rgrant@stewartmckelvey.com

Harquail
J. Paul M. Harquail

J. Paul M. Harquail,
ACIArb

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.8313

+1.506.639.0974

pharquail@stewartmckelvey.com

Hewitt

Justin Hewitt

Associate

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8846

jhewitt@stewartmckelvey.com

James

Tyler James

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3324

tjames@stewartmckelvey.com

Keyes
Colleen Keyes

Colleen Keyes

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1716

ckeyes@stewartmckelvey.com

La Forest
Gérard La Forest

Gérard La Forest,
C.C, K.C.

Counsel

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.443.0135

glaforest@stewartmckelvey.com

Lahey
Cathy Lahey

Cathy Lahey,
K.C.

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.8307

clahey@stewartmckelvey.com

Leard
Neal L.D. Leard

Neal L.D. Leard

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.634.6416

nleard@stewartmckelvey.com

MacDonald
Dylan MacDonald

Dylan MacDonald

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3312

dmacdonald@stewartmckelvey.com

McMackin
Gerald McMackin

Gerald McMackin,
K.C.

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.2768

gmcmackin@stewartmckelvey.com

Merrigan

Josh Merrigan

Associate

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8820

jmerrigan@stewartmckelvey.com

Moores

Greg Moores

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.5797

gmoores@stewartmckelvey.com

Moreira
Will Moreira

Will Moreira,
K.C., FCIArb

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3346

wmoreira@stewartmckelvey.com

Mowat-Rose
Daniel Mowat-Rose

Daniel Mowat-Rose

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3385 x63385

dmowatrose@stewartmckelvey.com

Nicholson
Sara Nicholson

Sara Nicholson

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1758

snicholson@stewartmckelvey.com

O'Kane

Jonathan O'Kane

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.9502

jokane@stewartmckelvey.com

O'Neil
Conor O'Neil

Conor O'Neil,
P.Eng.

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.2786

coneil@stewartmckelvey.com

Parent
Julia Parent

Julia Parent

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.2729

jparent@stewartmckelvey.com

Piercey
Colin Piercey

Colin Piercey

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3345

+1.902.401.4415

cpiercey@stewartmckelvey.com

Randell
David Randell

David Randell

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3309

+1.902.476.8760

drandell@stewartmckelvey.com

Rubin
Nancy Rubin

Nancy Rubin,
K.C.

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3337

nrubin@stewartmckelvey.com

Rudderham
Brianne Rudderham

Brianne Rudderham

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3323

brudderham@stewartmckelvey.com

Ryan
Maureen Ryan

Maureen Ryan,
K.C.

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8880

mryan@stewartmckelvey.com

Samms

G. John Samms

Associate

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8891

gjsamms@stewartmckelvey.com

Seviour

Colm St. Roch Seviour,
K.C.

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8847

cseviour@stewartmckelvey.com

Staniland

Tauna Staniland,
K.C.

Managing Partner, St. John's

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8842

tstaniland@stewartmckelvey.com

Walsh

Kim Walsh

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8834

kwalsh@stewartmckelvey.com

Walsh
Sarah Walsh

Sarah Walsh

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3388

swalsh@stewartmckelvey.com

Scroll To Top